Entering Technical Writing

Posted: January 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

Welcome to my new blog. I’m a grad student in Technical Writing at Utah State University. Incidentally, most of my classes are online, so I’m not actually in Utah (although I hope to go for summer classes).

I’m doing some interesting reading and writing for class, as well as on my own time, so I created this blog to host some of my papers, responses to things I’ve read, discoveries as I explore the field of technical communications, and interviews with working professionals.

One of my reasons for doing this is that I have a lot of independent work to do. The degree program that I’m in is actually intended for people who are already professional technical writers. I managed to talk my way in because I write a technology column for a small music magazine, but unlike most of my classmates, I am far from a tech writer. I’ve found most of my classwork so far to be interesting, but very theoretical. I guess that’s what grad school is for, right? My problem is that, since I’m a beginner, I need a lot more practical information and hands-on work to prepare me for this career. I plan to use this blog to explore some of that.

If you’d like to know more about me as a musician, my music website is www.notjustanotherprettyvoice.com. Meanwhile, hope to see you around here!

Leave a Reply

